The Gold Pro-Am

The field of the HP Byron Nelson Championship has 156 players.  The Gold Pro-Am on Wednesday has 52 professionals playing.  Have you ever wondered how the 52 players are selected?

PGA TOUR rules specify that the low 42 players from last year’s Money List are automatically in the Pro-Am.  Remember that is the low 42 from last year that are in the field at this year’s event.

Since not every player on the money list is in the field we must take the lowest 42 players who are in our field this year.  This takes us to # 107, J.J. Henry.  See link above.

Now, the next ten are picked by the host organizations.  So who did we pick?

  • Ryo Ishikawa
  • Retief Goosen
  • David Toms
  • Padraig Harrington
  • Ben Crane
  • Ricky Barnes
  • Louie Oosthuizen
  • Paul Casey
  • John Senden
  • Carl Pettersson

So the Gold Pro-Am has a great field this year as well.  Have fun!