Major Champions Commit to the AT&T Byron Nelson

Seven of top 20 players in World Golf Rankings join the field


IRVING, TX, April 28, 2016 – Past Major champions and fan favorites dominate the AT&T Byron Nelson field, including 2015 Masters, U.S. Open Champion and No. 2 player in the world Jordan Spieth. The tournament will be held May 16-22 at TPC Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas.


The newest commitments include Ernie Els (2002 & 2012 British Open, 1994 and 1997 U.S. Open, and 1995 AT&T Byron Nelson Champ), Vijay Singh (1998 and 2004 PGA Championship, 2000 Masters winner, and 2003 AT&T Byron Nelson champ), Stewart Cink (2009 British Open champion) and Angel Cabrera (2009 Masters and 2007 U.S. Open champion). In addition, 2004 AT&T Byron Nelson champion Sergio Garcia (world-ranked #15) and Louis Oosthuizen (2010 British Open Champion and world-ranked #13) have committed to this year’s tournament for a combined seven players currently ranked in the top 20 World Golf Rankings.


Former AT&T Byron Nelson champions are also lined up to play. Brendon Todd, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Rory Sabbatini and defending champion Steven Bowditch will reunite at this year’s tournament. Other notable names include world-ranked #8 Dustin Johnson, 2016 AT&T Pebble Peach champion Brandt Snedeker and 2011 Masters champion Charl Schwartzel.


Several up-and-coming golfers were awarded sponsor exemptions and will join this year’s elite lineup. Alex Moon, a Plano West High School graduate and current PGA TOUR Latinoamérica player, has joined Bryson DeChambeau and Will Zalatoris. The 2016 AT&T Byron Nelson will be Moon’s first PGA TOUR event. Moon was a member and teammate of Spieth on the University of Texas NCAA championship team in 2012 and helped Plano West win the 2009 Class 5A championship.


The field will be finalized Friday, May 13. For more information and an updated list of commitments, visit


Media Contact:

Meagan Abendschein

214-915-4784 (o)

512-423-5888 (c)