Four Junior Golfers Receive Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Awards

Wilson Furr, Noah Goodwin, Cole Hammer, and Eugene Hong to be honored at  2017 AT&T Byron Nelson


Irving, Texas, May 1, 2017 – AT&T Byron Nelson announced today Wilson Furr, Noah Goodwin, Cole Hammer, and Eugene Hong as the 2017 Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Awards winners. The four winners are among the world’s top junior golfers and will be presented awards at this year’s AT&T Byron Nelson.


Wilson Furr (Jackson, MS)

Furr is ranked No. 8 by Golfweek and No. 4 in the Junior Golf Scoreboard class of 2017. Furr represented the United States in the 2016 U.S. Junior Ryder Cup and played in the US Amateur. He and his sister founded the nonprofit Just Have a Ball in 2008, and to date they have given away 30,000 golf balls and raised over $150,000 for Mississippi Elementary children to encourage them to exercise and stay healthy. Furr has committed to University of Alabama.


Noah Goodwin (Corinth, TX)

Goodwin was the 2016 Rolex Junior Player of the Year and Rolex Junior All-American First Team. He is No. 1 in Golfweek, AJGA, and Junior Golf Scoreboard, along with being No. 17 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He was also a member of the 2016 Junior Ryder Cup Team. Through the American Junior Golf Association’s Leadership Links program, he participated in the “Playing Fore Their Future” program to raise money for Nicklaus Children’s Health Care Foundation. Goodwin has committed to Southern Methodist University.


Cole Hammer (Houston, TX)

Hammer was the 2015 STPGA Amateur and Junior Player of the year. In the same year, he was named the PGA Junior Series Player of the Year and participated in the U.S. Open. In 2016, Hammer was named the AJGA Rolex First Team All-American and placed 2nd in the AJGA Junior Players Championship. He now sits as a Player Representative on the AJGA Board of Directors. Hammer has committed to The University of Texas at Austin.



Eugene Hong (Orlando, FL)

Hong is the top-ranked player in the AJGA. In 2016, he was a member of the U.S. Junior Ryder Cup, was a first team AJGA Rolex Junior All-American two years in a row, and was a semi-finalist in the U.S. Junior Amateur Championship. Hong has committed to the University of Florida.


The Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Awards were created in 2008 to recognize the achievements of junior golfers around the world that excel at a high level of tournament play as well as academics, outstanding character and dedication to community service. The awards honor Byron Nelson’s legacy and his commitment to mentoring and supporting young golfers.


Recipients will attend the AT&T Byron Nelson, receive a behind-the-scenes look at the tournament, meet PGA TOUR professionals, and enjoy a private awards dinner with their families.


Past recipients include Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Cody Gribble, Emiliano Grillo and Austin Connelly.


Award winners have gone on to win other PGA TOUR events as well as major junior events. Several go on to receive scholarships to play for major Division 1 universities and ultimately join the PGA TOUR.


Click here for more information on BNIGJA and full list of past recipients.