Keeping up with our Past

05-10-05_107Years ago Mr. Nelson used to have a Past Champions Dinner during the week of the Nelson. It was an exclusive affair with the only invitees being the past winners of the Byron Nelson Championship. They told stories and reminisced about the many years of “Nelsons.” Past winners of the Byron Nelson have included a virtual Who’s Who of professional golf.

HP Byron Nelson Championship - Final Round

Today Mr. Nelson is no longer with us, so the Champions Dinner just quietly ended. That being said, we still like to keep up with our past champions and congratulate them whenever they win. This week our salute goes out to Jason Day, our  2010 HP Byron Nelson Championship, who just won the individual title at the World Cup of Golf at Royal Melbourne.

Needless to say, Jason needed something good to happen to him. Jason, who immigrated to Australia from the Philippines years ago, endured a terrible tragedy this past month. Typhoon Haiyan claimed the lives of eight of his relatives, including his grandmother. His mother and sister were on hand to support him and see him to victory at Royal Melbourne.


The runner up in the World Cup of Golf was Thomas Bjorn, who showed real class with these comments:  “Obviously a fraction disappointed. I didn’t play that great today, but I couldn’t be happier for Jason winning.  He has gone through a rough time of late and for him to even be here is a big thing and then to go and win a golf tournament … that’s what you want to see.”

Well said, Thomas!

The World Cup of Golf is a team event with each country sending two players. This year’s event in Australia was being played on home soil at Royal Melbourne. The team award went to Australia, with Jason Day winning individually and Adam Scott finishing third. Scott, the current Masters Champion, is another past champion of the Nelson, winning in 2008.

WCS-Closing Ceremony-_3214 (66)

The World Cup is in its 60th year, having started in 1953. The entry format, using world rankings and the number of players eligible from each country based on those rankings, will be used for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.


Tim Gamso
Salesmanship Club of Dallas