With a rich golf tradition in Dallas, including a U.S. Open and two PGA Championships, the AT&T Byron Nelson Championship has a long history in professional golf that traces its roots back to 1944. That year, Byron Nelson teed it up at Lakewood Country Club and won the Texas Victory Open by 10 strokes over his friend Harold "Jug" McSpaden. This annual tournament would continue for two more years, first as the Dallas Open and then as the Dallas Invitational.

Nelson's victory at Lakewood Country Club was the beginning of two remarkable years in which he would win 26 tournaments, including his amazing streak of 11 straight victories in 1945.

The AT&T Byron Nelson Championship is now the ninth longest-running active tournament on the PGA TOUR schedule. Aside from the three U.S. majors (the U.S. Open, PGA Championship and the Masters), only eight PGA TOUR events were established prior to 1944. While 10 years elapsed before an annual Dallas-based event began again in 1956, the stage was set for the introduction of the current tournament, which began as the Byron Nelson Golf Classic in 1968. Since then, 46 Byron Nelson tournaments have been played, all of which contributed to the event's current reputation as one of the most highly competitive tournaments on the PGA TOUR.

Longest Running U.S. PGA TOUR Events

RankEventYear Established
1 BMW Championship (formerly the Cialis Western Open) 1899
2 RBC Canadian Open 1904
3 Valero Texas Open 1922
4 Northern Trust Open 1926
5 Waste Management Phoenix Open 1935
6 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am 1937
T7 Wyndham Championship (formerly the Chrysler Classic of Greensboro) 1938
T7 Zurich Classic of New Orleans 1938
9 AT&T Byron Nelson Championship 1944
T10 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial (formerly the Bank of America Colonial) 1946
T10 Shell Houston Open 1946
12 The Century Club of San Diego Invitational (formerly the Buick Invitational) 1952
13 Travelers Championship (formerly the Buick Championship and the Greater Hartford Open) 1952
14 SBS Championship (formerly the Mercedes-Benz Championship) 1953
T15 Buick Open 1958
T15 St. Jude Classic 1958